“The Fault In Our Stars” by John Green – REVIEW!!!!

the-fault-in-our-stars-book-cover1

In honor of the film release, I bring you my thoughts and opinions on The Fault In Our Stars by John Green- a novel that has taken the world by storm.

The Fault In Our Stars is a tear-jerking story about two young people who are living with cancer. Hazel Grace struggles to breathe due to colonies in her lungs, while Augustus Waters has lost a leg to the cancer that has since seemed to have an apparent lack of interest in the rest of him. They fall in love, and begin to fully understand the meaning of “living life to the fullest”- realizing that theirs may be the only love they will ever experience.

The novel is unlike anything I have ever read, and since my first time through, I have thrown myself into the book  seven more times. It is full of heartbreak, trauma, and pain- but there is also joy, laughter, and a sense of relief in reading it that is truly unique.

One of my very best friends was diagnosed with a cancerous brain tumor in our fourth grade year. Her family has been through more than I could ever witness to, however, I can remember- the first few months after her surgery- seeing her lying in a hospital bed, and feeling completely helpless. Now several years later, she is doing extraordinarily well, considering she had to relearn how to write, walk, and even speak. She’s always upbeat and is usually the one to encourage me when I’m having one of those days.

I never understood how she could always be so strong and full of life until I read The Fault In Our Stars. John Green does an amazing job of adding in details that make you forget you are even reading a book.

I highly recommend The Fault In Our Stars to everyone- all ages. It will make you laugh, it will make you cry, but most of all, it will make you realize your own true meaning of life.

Happy Reading!

Kayla

The tears are well worth it- promise!!

Leave a Reply

